Road Ahead Partnership – Update to Promotion Working Group

Road Ahead Promotion Working Group Comprised of State Marketing Professionals

In the fall of 2019, Jennifer Mullins, Oklahoma’s Director of Travel Promotion, became the new Chairman of the Route 66 Road Ahead Partnership’s Promotion Working Group. In just 3 months, she has completed the task of recruiting members from the seven other Route 66 state tourism departments as new members of Working Group.

These tourism professionals will join the current members of the Road Ahead’s Promotion Working Group, Bill Kelly, former Executive Director of the Illinois Route 66 Scenic Byway Program and Brennen Matthews, Editor of Route magazine. This marks the first time representatives from tourism departments in all eight Route 66 states have committed to working together to promote the Mother Road.

“I am deeply honored to have the opportunity to work collaboratively with my counterparts on ways to promote and increase visitation, both domestically and internationally, for Route 66,” Mullins said. “The Mother Road is such an important and fascinating part of our nation’s history and culture, and such a key piece of our state’s tourism economy.  Thousands of tourists visit Oklahoma each year to drive the highway. They stop in our cities and towns, bringing in millions of dollars and helping create jobs in both urban and rural areas.  With state leadership that recognizes the cultural and tourism significance of the Route, and who is committed to supporting economic development, historic preservation, and marketing initiatives, we have begun to see real momentum.  My goal is to bring that energy and collaborative enthusiasm to my role within the group to collectively effect real change on a national level.”

The first order of business for the newly formed Promotion Working Group will be setting goals, based on the challenges and needs associated with promoting Route 66.

The new tourism department members of the Route 66 Road Ahead Promotion Working Group include:

Jan Kemmerling, Director of Tourism, Illinois

Ashley Sneed, Marketing Coordinator, Missouri

Jennifer Mullins, Director of Travel Promotion, Oklahoma

Bridgette Jobe, Director of Tourism, Kansas

Brad Smyth, Tourism Director, Texas

Erin Ladd, Marketing Director, New Mexico

Tim DeClaire, Senior Director of Marketing, Arizona

Jennifer Walker, Director of Brand Advertising, California

Established in 2015, with the support of the National Park Service and the World Monuments’ Fund, The Route 66 Road Ahead Partnership’s mission is to revitalize and sustain Route 66 as a national and international icon through partnerships focused on promotion, preservation, research and education, and economic development.



Bill Thomas, Chairman

Rt. 66 Road Ahead Partnership